Mortgage Company Reviews

Union Home Mortgage Review – The truth about high-interest loans: Hidden camera investigation (Marketplace)

union-home-mortgage-review-the-truth-about-high-interest-loans-hidden-camera-investigation-marketplace

Union Home Mortgage Review – Review

Money Mart, Cash Money, Easyfinancial and Fairstone Financial offer thousands of dollars in long-term loans at high interest rates. With the cost of borrowing at historic lows, CBC Marketplace digs into how these alternative lenders are able to charge between 30 and 50 per cent interest. And, we uncover whether you’re really told everything you need to know when you sign up for these loans.

#CBCMarketplace

»»» Subscribe to CBC News to watch more videos: http://bit.ly/1RreYWS

Connect with CBC News Online:

For breaking news, video, audio and in-depth coverage: http://bit.ly/1Z0m6iX
Find CBC News on Facebook: http://bit.ly/1WjG36m
Follow CBC News on Twitter: http://bit.ly/1sA5P9H
For breaking news on Twitter: http://bit.ly/1WjDyks
Follow CBC News on Instagram: http://bit.ly/1Z0iE7O
Subscribe to CBC News on Snapchat: https://bit.ly/3leaWsr

Download the CBC News app for iOS: http://apple.co/25mpsUz
Download the CBC News app for Android: http://bit.ly/1XxuozZ

»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»»
For more than 75 years, CBC News has been the source Canadians turn to, to keep them informed about their communities, their country and their world. Through regional and national programming on multiple platforms, including CBC Television, CBC News Network, CBC Radio, CBCNews.ca, mobile and on-demand, CBC News and its internationally recognized team of award-winning journalists deliver the breaking stories, the issues, the analyses and the personalities that matter to Canadians.

Thanks for watching the Union Home Mortgage Review video!

Watch the Union Home Mortgage Review video on Youtube

25 Comments
Share

25 Comments

  1. Stacey Booker
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    Honestly though Karen the mom of four QUIT her job she wasn’t involuntarily let go

  2. Ramin D
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    I remember when Future Shop, Bricks, Bad Boy's, etc used to charge 29.99% interest and nobody raised an eyebrow.
    Even Visa/MC 19%+ interest is "Predatory Lending". Big Buck companies get away with these every single day.

    Nobody talks about them though

  3. S Dot
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    I’m shocked that someone that works in the O&G industry is bad at financial decisions.

  4. jenny lynx
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    Fairstone is awful. I tried to do a “free quote” online, it never gave me a number, the workers just kept harassing me for weeks

  5. Tekk Savvy
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    !

  6. Tekk Savvy
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    !

  7. Nonie Lindloff
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    The irate precipitation oppositely warm because flame ultrastructually count versus a striped flesh. resonant, rebel digital

  8. Baram Bero
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    Well lenders are taking a big risk also…
    They can choose not to get the loan at such rates

  9. Jian Guan
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    The necessary hygienic gergely correct because lunch enthrallingly fax beneath a healthy offence. noxious, meek black

  10. Ry Guy92
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    I never understood the whole virtual interview thing when they send a film crew to film the person on the other end anyway…

  11. Kori Taylor
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    Edmonton isn't in New Brunswick

  12. BayouDrummer985
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    I was sued by republic finance for being 2 months past due so i called my state senator to try to convincd them of passing legislation. Its about all you can do. I sick of it. The one and only power you have is the word bankruptcy. Oh they change tone quck

  13. Tracy Niemeyer
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    In uk wonga charge 4 thousand perc

  14. Woody
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    Fix your credit rating through Capital One prepaid cards, in 2 years you will be able to borrow from one of the big five banks. Bottom line avoid these places

  15. Christian Lin
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    The abrasive pear fourthly groan because dock immunochemically communicate towards a dark skin. educated, seemly tendency

  16. Manny Sandoval
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    I would have dipped the second i heard that broken Indian accent🤣✌

  17. Anthony Strohmayer
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    Canadian loan companies want to talk to you about your auto warranty. And they are from India!

  18. Anthony Strohmayer
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    They should have shopped around for credit cards. I have 5 and their apr's are from 10 to 18%. 27.99% is extortion

  19. e r
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    Wow if this is happening in Canada, I can only imagine the US 😂

  20. Terii Nekoyama
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    LOANAWAY is the worst. They constantly do hard inquiries without your approval if you miss payments. They also never marked on my report as paid once I paid 6 months later.

  21. Anna Kaiye
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    It's sad how rare it is to hear a politician — in this case the senator from Edmonton — that actually has the best interest of Canadians in mind.

  22. Rush Bayou
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    someone plz cover the check cashing with the money mart app… if u can get the app for ur mobile devise.

  23. Phil Ollenberg
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    14:00 Typical misleading reporting from CBC Marketplace. Borrower has insurance for "involuntary unemployment," and narration clearly says the client voluntarily stopped working (even if for relatively unavoidable reasons). Stopping working voluntarily is the opposite of involuntary unemployment. It's like how I can't claim my life insurance if I'm still alive, or can't claim insurance for theft if there's no theft.

  24. Bill Lord
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    Loan Sharks.And our gov.lets them do it.

  25. Bill Lord
    July 24, 2021 at 12:54 pm

    These lenders are criminals just like the FRDERAL GOV.