Mortgage Company Reviews

Union Home Mortgage Review – Racism has a cost for everyone | Heather C. McGhee

union-home-mortgage-review-racism-has-a-cost-for-everyone-heather-c-mcghee

Union Home Mortgage Review – How to Choose

Visit http://TED.com to get our entire library of TED Talks, transcripts, translations, personalized talk recommendations and more.

Racism makes our economy worse — and not just in ways that harm people of color, says public policy expert Heather C. McGhee. From her research and travels across the US, McGhee shares startling insights into how racism fuels bad policymaking and drains our economic potential — and offers a crucial rethink on what we can do to create a more prosperous nation for all. “Our fates are linked,” she says. “It costs us so much to remain divided.”

The TED Talks channel features the best talks and performances from the TED Conference, where the world’s leading thinkers and doers give the talk of their lives in 18 minutes (or less). Look for talks on Technology, Entertainment and Design — plus science, business, global issues, the arts and more. You’re welcome to link to or embed these videos, forward them to others and share these ideas with people you know. For more information on using TED for commercial purposes (e.g. employee learning, in a film or online course), submit a Media Request here: http://media-requests.TED.com

Follow TED on Twitter: http://twitter.com/TEDTalks
Like TED on Facebook: http://facebook.com/TED

Subscribe to our channel: http://youtube.com/TED

Thanks for watching the Union Home Mortgage Review video!

Watch the Union Home Mortgage Review video on Youtube

38 Comments
Share

38 Comments

  1. nkululeko nazo
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    Police being sued for wrongful, conviction and brutality almost every day… racism is a costly stupid ideology

  2. Maggie Lopez
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    I had to watch this for school and I'm so glad! This brought me to tears, you have moved me. You're a great presenter!

  3. anthonysilard
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    Thank you for discussing this. Such an important discussion.

  4. Jam Kar
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    I suspect that lack of universal medicare in the US is due to a racism mentality. That is I a white person will not put in a dollar in the kitty so that we can all have medicare because it will help the black person. I'll pay for my own medical care and let the other guy (black) pay for his own.

  5. Carissa Renard
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    Reminds me how social security was seen as a good thing when black Americans were excluded from it, but as soon as they were included later on all of a sudden they became ‘entitlements’. such bullshit.

  6. Dave Adair
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    "We would not have had a financial crisis if it weren't for racism." I'm not sure that she made the case for racism here, or whether the amoral financial traders just defrauded people where and when they could. If you're a thief, you're not worried about who you steal money from.

  7. Singers Unite
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    No such thing as racism, there is only good and evil right or wrong, the word racism was made to segregate the races, if you ask a so called “ racist” why he hates people of another race they NEVER say it’s because he hates there skin shade or race, it’s always other factors, the word “racism” was made to protect one race of person and not another, I would argue the word racist is actually more so called “ racist” than anything or anyone could ever be

  8. Kalani Salami
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    Amazing talk.. Well done and thank you:)

  9. VLP Breath & Petition
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    Oh no lady! I am a victim of
    Resisum of African American people because I am a new comer Black African Please, don't tell me American blacks don't discriminate new Africans!

  10. Polarbi Anarchy
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    🖤

  11. Tony Miller
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    I'd like to see Heather run for public office.

  12. Harolynne Bobis
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    I'm glad this was recommended to me. I've followed Heather McGhee for years, but hadn't heard this talk before.

  13. Mary Tracy
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    Yes, our pool in Winnfield Louisiana closed in 1976 coincidentally when black people started using it.

  14. Rich Williams
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    MY gosh, what a waste of 15 minutes.

  15. Dre_Jammin
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    Reading her book for my book club, so much insights and truths! "It cause us all to be divided!

  16. Jakadis
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    That happened 60 years ago chill

  17. Jakadis
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    simply do not resist arrest or put yourself in a situation where the police are after you and you will not be mistreated by police. This goes for everyone, not only other races.

  18. westskincare
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    The Sum of Us is so damn good.
    Thank you for breaking it all the way down!!

  19. Peter Townsend
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    Policymakers know all of this..perfect example is the opioid crisis…if laws and policies and treatment were put in place during the drugs crisis which ripped through the black communities in the 80s and 90s we wouldn't have all these deaths of white people from opioids..because a system would already exist to stream and help them

  20. Dave Wilson
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    Asking for a photo ID to vote is not out of touch with reality which leads me to You Are Out Of Touch with reality Ms Mcghee

  21. Al Ex
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    Well made propaganda piece. 2008 crises caused by racism was the pinnacle of the insanity.

  22. Andrew
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    It is something of an irony that the original people of our world can find the strength to unite the divisions which they did not create , in a country torn apart by ignorance and astonishing stupidity. True stength is only possible with right – mindedness / mindfulness. It is a privelidge for me to see and hear the power of truth and the echos of unity. Thanks for sharing/reading.

  23. Bertram Davis
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    This the real truth of Amerca!!!

  24. Arawashi Pilot Oniiko
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    What a video of lies

  25. Tanisha Lewis
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    Wow. This is a powerful message. I agree 100%

  26. Peter Schaeffer
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    Google gets 23,800 hits for "Tony Timpa", 58,400 hits for "Justine Damond", and 39,400,000 for "George Floyd". Some lives count for a lot more than others. Some lives barely matter at all. Tony Timpa died at the hands of the Dallas police under circumstances somewhat similar to George Floyd (in many ways worse). Never heard of him? That's exactly the point. Some lives just don't matter. A lady by the name of Justine Diamond was killed by the Minneapolis police. Never heard of her? That's exactly the point. Some lives just don't matter

  27. Peter Schaeffer
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    Google gets 23,800 hits for "Tony Timpa", 58,400 hits for "Justine Damond", and 39,400,000 for "George Floyd". Some lives count for a lot more than others. Some lives barely matter at all. Tony Timpa died at the hands of the Dallas police under circumstances somewhat similar to George Floyd (in many ways worse). Never heard of him? That's exactly the point. Some lives just don't matter. A lady by the name of Justine Diamond was killed by the Minneapolis police. Never heard of her? That's exactly the point. Some lives just don't matter

  28. Jean Erica
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    “If you uplift black people, you down white people” – that is true of wealth/capital! For one person to gain wealth another must lose wealth. But when it comes to public services & policies it does a disservice to all.

  29. Giggity Giggity Goo
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    The 4 times I’ve been jumped and stolen from by black people in my teens and twenties, not once, was it provoked by me, what’s that? Reparations? Pay back, for something that happened hundreds of years ago?
    Give me a break, I still get flack from people of color, difference is, I don’t let them bully me anymore.
    Spare me your race baiting, you are the racist one.

  30. Tranel Hawkins
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    Clear and present danger to making Americans and America great! Racism!

  31. steven colatrella
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    I feel like we have been waiting for her and her message since at least Jesse Jackson's campaign in 1988, maybe since Dr. King died. A very important voice, a game-changer, since if we all realize, or at least the vast majority of us realize that racism is bad for us and we have a real stake in overcoming it, our odds of overcoming it expand exponentially. And a lot of possibilities open up for things we could do that we have not imagined.

  32. Kenneth Lamb
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    Heather McGhee has a real good book called "What Racism Has Cost Us, I have just ordered it.

  33. C
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    Fails to mention the huge public expenditure with Johnson on War against Poverty and affirmative action legislations. A bit selective on evidence to serve a narrative. An objective analysis is the beginning of a real discourse.

  34. Frankenviews *
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    American White Supremacists eat their own. The rich ones are more than willing to sacrifice the poor ones as long as people of color are kept poor too. It's not a loss of money for them since it all goes to the richest white racists. That's why the USA has more billionaires than next 3 on the top of the world list combined (China, Russia and Germany).

  35. Frantz Herr
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    “We would not have had a [2008] financial crisis if it weren’t for racism.” I call b.s. on that statement!

  36. Rebecka W
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    Ubuntu <3

  37. Robyn Eason
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    This punctuates the idea of a preference for a perpetual failed state due to racism. This was a beautiful piece. Congress can learn some lessons with messaging here. Thank you, Ms. Heather McGhee!!

  38. KaritKtana
    July 25, 2021 at 5:52 pm

    Thank you, Heather. American racism is a pyramid scheme, and I wish more people would understand that