Mortgage Company Reviews

Union Home Mortgage Review – Gilded Age Politics:Crash Course US History #26

union-home-mortgage-review-gilded-age-politicscrash-course-us-history-26

Union Home Mortgage Review – Review

You can directly support Crash Course at http://www.subbable.com/crashcourse Subscribe for as little as $0 to keep up with everything we’re doing. Also, if you can afford to pay a little every month, it really helps keep the channel producing great content.

In which John Green teaches you about the Gilded Age and its politics. What, you may ask, is the Gilded Age? The term comes from a book by Mark Twain and Charles Dudley Warner titled, “The Gilded Age.” You may see a pattern emerging here. It started in the 1870s and continued on until the turn of the 20th century. The era is called Gilded because of the massive inequality that existed in the United States. Gilded Age politics were marked by a number of phenomenons, most of them having to do with corruption. On the local and state level, political machines wielded enormous power. John gets into details about the most famous political machine, Tammany Hall. Tammany Hall ran New York City for a long, long time, notably under Boss Tweed. Graft, kickbacks, and voter fraud were rampant, but not just at the local level. Ulysses S. Grant ran one of the most scandalous presidential administrations in U.S. history, and John will tell you about two of the best known scandals, the Credit Mobilier scandal and the Whiskey Ring. There were a few attempts at reform during this time, notably the Civil Service Act of 1883 and the Sherman Anti-trust act of 1890. John will also get into the Grange Movement of the western farmers, and the Populist Party that arose from that movement. The Populists, who threw in their lot with William Jennings Bryan, never managed to get it together and win a presidency, and they faded after 1896. Which brings us to the Progressive Era, which we’ll get into next week!

Hey teachers and students – Check out CommonLit’s free collection of reading passages and curriculum resources to learn more about the events of this episode. The Gilded Age was marked by the success of the richest coupled with inequality and corruption. Repeated factory disasters, such as the triangle shirtwaist factory fire revealed the unsafe working conditions of the urban poor: https://www.commonlit.org/texts/the-triangle-shirtwaist-factory-fire
Meanwhile, workers began to join unions and strike for better working conditions: https://www.commonlit.org/texts/the-coeur-d-alene-miners-uprising

Like us: facebook.com/youtubecrashcourse
Follow Us!
@TheCrashCourse
@realjohngreen
@crashcoursestan
@raoulmeyer
@thoughtbubbler
@br8dybrunch

Thanks for watching the Union Home Mortgage Review video!

Watch the Union Home Mortgage Review video on Youtube

42 Comments
Share

42 Comments

  1. dednoob6
    July 26, 2021 at 11:17 am

    Helped me in APUSH and now its time to help with CLEP

  2. Grey Fox
    July 26, 2021 at 11:17 am

    I hate the comments in crash course videos. Waste of time reading any of them.

  3. Muszy
    July 26, 2021 at 11:17 am

    I think we currently live in the second gilded age.

  4. Extra Batteries
    July 26, 2021 at 11:17 am

    Gay.

  5. Ellie
    July 26, 2021 at 11:17 am

    I'm not actually here because of apush, I'm here because I have a college us history class, zero energy to finish the chapter, and an entire damn essay due 😭😭

  6. al b
    July 26, 2021 at 11:17 am

    so this is on mute and im listening to freddie dredd

  7. williecatch9
    July 26, 2021 at 11:17 am

    Anybody else here during the 2020 recession?

  8. JAY 2K
    July 26, 2021 at 11:17 am

    I hate this like if your teacher assigned this 🤬🤬🤬🤬🤬🤬😡😡😡😡😡

  9. Jesse Newman
    July 26, 2021 at 11:17 am

    “These days we don’t associate [progressive taxation] with populism.” Fast forward to Bernie Sanders.

  10. SalutExpla
    July 26, 2021 at 11:17 am

    I missed one video, and I was screwed

  11. Preston Knight
    July 26, 2021 at 11:17 am

    Here literally 1 minute before the 2020 test.

  12. Josh
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    Godspeed everyone

  13. Emily_M
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    WHAT IS THIS, FRANCE?

  14. Emily_M
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    T-minus 1 hour to go. Save me John Green.

  15. Spencer Davimos
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    it's an hour before my apush exam, and i am currently reteaching myself period 7….

  16. Mrs. KimChii
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    20 minutes before APUSH exam…

  17. Tais's Tea
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    Binge watching all 48 videos right before the corona APUSH test <

  18. sw33tmeow
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    2020 APUSH students are crying rn

  19. Eclipse
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    I can attest that APUSH students are still watching these videos the night before the test.

  20. Bravest Warriorz
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    2020 Apush studying

  21. Nandini Singh
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    Can you please provide readings for this topic as well?

  22. Libros de Joaquín E. Brotons brotons
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    Thanks for the info. I had read something when I was a kid about this populist party. Everybody is talking about populism as something new. I remembered that populist party from 1890s

  23. Luisa Ojeda
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    thankyou for helping me with my history quiz

  24. Ayush Art
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    Y U wearin' socks, Mr. Green?

  25. Mia Valiotis
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    APUSH TEST 2020 GANG RISE UP

  26. Partaap Bains
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    All of your comments have inspired me, to cram in advance. Thank you for your sacrifices.

  27. SirBagsAlot
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    Hey can you help me solve something

  28. Nathan Wassem
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    I have to take notes on this and its very hard. problem is I don't know what he is saying should be jotted down or not

  29. Javid d
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    John I love this series but your politics bias is so obvious.

  30. Alia Brown
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    1. What are glided age politics
    2. How did it change America
    3. Why was it important to the era
    (Someone please help)!!

  31. Coby
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    RIP Apush Students in 2020 lmao

  32. Rowie Dowie
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    10:23 bruh he really used the Minecraft pickaxe

  33. John Doe
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    "i have to poop" -mark trwain

  34. Surf Soc
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    Please shoot me

  35. Lily
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    Research Essay for college here we go

  36. Sarah Núñez
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    I think I am the only person watching this for personal entertainment, and it shows

  37. Jenkel Gutierrez
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    Suppose you are a politic, and you are corrupt. But i repeat myself

  38. Heather Sobomehin
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    when you did the pop up art picture of willia jennings bryan his eyes look really creepy

  39. 通りすがりの仮面ライダー
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    5:16
    YO!
    Muh boi with the Metal Slug reference!

  40. Derek
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    i am in 7th grade u all are dumb

  41. Lajibolala
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    "HOW DO YOU LIKE DEM APPLES!!!!"

  42. Steve Lenores
    July 26, 2021 at 11:18 am

    Anybody older than 5 will realize that his computer makes a thinly veiled swipe at Republicans. Leftest have been labeling all Republicans as fascists and racists. Guard against this kind of anti-American propaganda disguised as "education". More like the "re-education" pushed by the communists.