Mortgage Company Reviews

Union Home Mortgage Review – Economic Depression and Dictators: Crash Course European History #37

union-home-mortgage-review-economic-depression-and-dictators-crash-course-european-history-37

Union Home Mortgage Review – 10 Tips

We’re still leading up to World War II, but first we gotta talk about the rise of the dictators. Today we talk about the rise of militaristic dictatorships in Germany, the Soviet Union, Japan, and Spain, and the economic depression that set the stage for their rise.

Sources
-Hunt, Lynn et al. Making of the West: Peoples and Cultures. 6th ed. Boston: Bedford St. Martins, 2019.
-Kershaw, Ian. Hitler, A Biography. New York: W. W. Norton, 2010.
-Kotkin, Stephen. Stalin: Waiting for Hitler, 1929-1941. New York: Penguin, 2017.
-Slezkine, Yuri. The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2017.
-Smith, Bonnie G. Europe in the Contemporary World, 1900 to the Present. 2nd ed. London: Bloomsbury, 2020.

Crash Course is on Patreon! You can support us directly by signing up at http://www.patreon.com/crashcourse

Thanks to the following patrons for their generous monthly contributions that help keep Crash Course free for everyone forever:

Eric Prestemon, Sam Buck, Mark Brouwer, William McGraw, Siobhan Sabino, Jason Saslow, Jennifer Killen, Jon & Jennifer Smith, David Noe, Jonathan Zbikowski, Shawn Arnold, Trevin Beattie, Matthew Curls, Rachel Bright, Khaled El Shalakany, Efrain R. Pedroza, Ian Dundore, Kenneth F Penttinen, Eric Koslow, Timothy J Kwist, Indika Siriwardena, Caleb Weeks, Haixiang N/A Liu, Nathan Taylor, Avi Yashchin, Andrei Krishkevich, Sam Ferguson, Brian Thomas Gossett, SR Foxley, Tom Trval, Justin Zingsheim, Brandon, Westmoreland, dorsey, Jessica Wode, Nathan Catchings, Yasenia Cruz, Jirat

Want to find Crash Course elsewhere on the internet?
Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/YouTubeCrashCourse
Twitter – http://www.twitter.com/TheCrashCourse
Tumblr – http://thecrashcourse.tumblr.com
Support Crash Course on Patreon: http://patreon.com/crashcourse

CC Kids: http://www.youtube.com/crashcoursekids

#crashcourse #europeanhistory #history

Thanks for watching the Union Home Mortgage Review video!

Watch the Union Home Mortgage Review video on Youtube

42 Comments
Share

42 Comments

  1. masuda ahmed
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    Japan: *attacks the 2nd largest country on earth
    Japan: I started ww2!
    Europe: no cuz China Asian so it unimportant
    Germany: *attacks Poland
    Europe: Europe at war this is ww2!

  2. masuda ahmed
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    Europe: *plays empire game
    Japan: that looks fun
    Europe: only we can empire

  3. masuda ahmed
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    Britain: *bombs their colonies
    Italy: *bombs Spain
    West: bad boi
    Allies: *bombs axis

  4. masuda ahmed
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    Correction the swasttikas were a Hindu symbol

  5. Supreme Chungus
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    If you’re watching this video on 20th century European history thinking “Orange man bad” you have problems, you’re not onto something here. you’re scared about someone propagandizing the population? and you’re so sure that you’re the one seeing through it? perhaps it’s you who should be worried about being propagandized, if you find yourself in a narrative where your whole struggle is correct and all your enemies are immoral, maybe you’re the one living a lie.

  6. Help your cat to drive.
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    Speaks to how deeply propaganda can work on humans

  7. Help your cat to drive.
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    Maybe do one about the history of Africa.

  8. Help your cat to drive.
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    A world wide history of all slavery would be good

  9. Faizal Sidek
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    What happened to spanish empire?

  10. Mahmoud Telab
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    If you look back to any dictator who was originally just a politician, they all had a shared philosophy and route to taking power: division. Even today’s dictators divide to reach their goals. There is nothing that divides myself from a black man or a white man or a gay man except the facade that we place in exchange for reality. It’s what the elite want. A divided people cannot rebel as a group if they don’t believe they are one. Every great revolution defied this. Egypt’s revolution was born out of a phrase that mean “one hand” the French Revolution was born from both educated and uneducated men and women who felt dishonored. Even the American Civil Rights movement of the 1960’s was not at all possible without white men at the face of the movement. Division is the only thing keeping the people of the world from true democratic and economic freedom. Damn I kinda went off ion even care that much low key lmao

  11. CalvinTimToms
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    Meanwhile.. 90 years later.. 2020..

  12. The Earthly Odyssey
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    I love your videos. They are great overview of history and how it all links to present day. It's a much needed contribution to those former history students with boring professors. I always say, a good history teacher is a good storyteller and that is you. I hated economics in college, but would you be amazed to know I majored in French history based on the guidance and classes from a Early Modern French Economic Historian?? It all made sense.

  13. dcbsmt
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    Ford was a horrendous anti-semite so he would like Hitler.

  14. Riebenzahl -
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    And yet again there is a fascist in a right wing party in germany demanding to bring back masculinity (annd all other sorts of Nazi rhetoric).

  15. Al R
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    You spent the latter half of the 8th minute not blinking…. How?

  16. hamidreza khani
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    most of the support for dictators was for the cool poses they gave in front of the camera isn't' it

  17. Ben Harrison
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    Judaea declares war on Germany 1933

  18. Justin Kennedy
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    I love John Green and his videos. I'll always be a fan. That said, I now have a very painful pit in my stomach after watching this.

  19. Ahmad Alhusein
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    Obviously you want to talk about Hitler not Fascism .

  20. caralyn hi
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    “just ask amazon” I CHUCKLED

  21. Shwetank T
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    I think this is tremendous propaganda against Stalin and communism. Stalin never met or had any document signed with Hitler.

  22. PeanuttyGoodness
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    I knew that this comment section was poison, and I dove in anyway. 😒

  23. Sophie J
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    John Green, you are a goddamn national treasure.

  24. MC Painter
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    Roses are red
    Violets are blue
    When there’s a test
    Crash course helps you🤧☺️

  25. dash blum
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    the interesting thing about fascism is that it both is and is not ideology. it definitely has an ideology but no one joins for it, they join because they are looking for a sense of worth and community.

  26. Rabbit Piet
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    Why is this in my recommended in 2020

  27. Nevo Krien
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    My family yad a factory.
    In 1935 ish my family left germany.
    In 1948 my counry was created.

    Never got that factory

  28. Tonks Cooper
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    There is one thing I would like to point out; “The night of broken glass“ or “Kristallnacht“ is a term created by the nazi. It portrays the broken glass of the destroyed windows as beautiful crystals. 
    Because of it is an euphemistic description german pupils learn the term "Reichspogrom"( in English Pogromnight) instead of the night of broken glass.

  29. Tom Patterson
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    I heard mussolini actually fulfilled an ancient prophecy about ethiopia and rome.

  30. simplyjess
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    imagine your own child snitching you out to the Nazi's …… 9:18

  31. aromardu
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    This channel: "The Left and the Right cause Communism and Fascism to rise and that leads to BAD THINGS."
    Comment section: "OMG Fascism is rising, we need Communism to prevent BAD THINGS!"

  32. Disk Jockey
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    I find it absolutely amazing that wealthy trust fund hipsters wear soviet insignia as if it were any less murderous than the Nazis. This video highlights the dehumanizing and genocidal nature the soviet insignia represents.

  33. VenTura Rex RD
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    You're getting old man 🙁

  34. Röhner
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    I get that these videos aren't really accurate but could you at least try? "Swastika, a Buddhist symbol that was appropriated by the Nazis" You don't have to do much research to know that swastikas are and were common symbols around the world, separate from buddhism for thousands of years. The Nazis didn't need to copy it from an eastern religion, when it was in common use already.

  35. Nalin Saini
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    Even death is not a sure thing…
    Just ask U.S. President Jimmy Carter

  36. aaron volunteer
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    The famine would have happened no matter what Stalin did, however the famine was worse because of CPSU policies.

  37. Elixer
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    You look so sad compared to your 2012 counterpart

  38. bee kind
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    me, watching these videos to write my paper

  39. Kenzi Taylor
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    The more I watch your European series the more concerned I grow for the state of the world… if you have a chance I’d love to see a video about examples of peaceful redistribution of wealth and power. Hopefully some exist!

  40. sasuke is cool
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    Schoology sucks

  41. David Arnsparger
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    This is the best 15 minute explanation of the time between the wars. And if you think President Trump is Adolph Hitler, you need to spend a lot more time studying history. And Obama wasn't Stalin either.

  42. Shantanu Das Gupta
    July 26, 2021 at 5:12 pm

    swastika is not Buddhist symbol it is the symbol of Hinduism. Sir correct it