Mortgage Company Reviews

Union Home Mortgage Review – 12 YEARS Living Off-Grid on a Sustainable Homestead in a Self-Built Cob Home

union-home-mortgage-review-12-years-living-off-grid-on-a-sustainable-homestead-in-a-self-built-cob-home

Union Home Mortgage Review – Highest Rated?

Bryce and Misty have spent the last 12 years building a cob home, homesteading, living off the grid, and homeschooling their two daughters. They live without a car, so for transportation, they use taxis and bicycles, and they eventually hope to have a cart that their two horses can pull. For food production, they have a permaculture food forest for fruits and vegetables, chinampa-inspired wetland gardens, a cow and a bull for milk, ducks and chickens for eggs, bees for honey, and they also forage and cultivate feral crops.

You can find out more about Bryce and Misty here:
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPYCD5SzWer5TWta3bssgIA
Blog: https://mistyariens.wixsite.com/ultimathule
Email: ontariopermaculture@hotmail.com

And you can support Bryce and Misty here:
https://gofund.me/c4660286
https://www.patreon.com/Ontariopermaculture

These two have put in an impressive amount of work setting up their homestead. The house is built with clay that they collected from the wetland area of their property, their well was dug by hand, and everything from the fences to the staircase was made with wood from within a 20km radius of their home.

The cost to build the house was approximately $1,000 CAD. Most of the building materials (the sand, clay, straw, and wood) came from the land, and things like roofing, lumber, and windows they sourced from secondhand and reclaimed sources. Interestingly, they used several different natural building techniques in the home with each new addition. They usually start with a timber frame, and they have used cob, straw bales and wattle and daub, to fill in the spaces between the beams. And they’ve also explored using green roofs and earth floors.

Since moving to the land, they had two lovely daughters that they homeschool using unschooling and life immersion methods. They learn about food production, natural building, nature, math, reading, and more!

To earn an income, they do a variety of odd jobs including catering, seasonal farm work, a roadside plant stand, and they also receive the childcare benefit that all families in their province receive. Their primary focus is not how to earn more money but rather how to spend less and have more time. They try to produce as much of what they need on the farm.

For electricity, they have solar panels on the roof and a wind turbine (currently non-operational), for water they have a hand-dug well and rainwater collection barrels, for heat they have wood stoves, they have two composting toilets, and a rocket stove to heat water for their bathtub.

You can find out more about Bryce and Misty here:
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPYCD5SzWer5TWta3bssgIA
Blog: https://mistyariens.wixsite.com/ultimathule
Email: ontariopermaculture@hotmail.com

Thanks for watching!

Mat & Danielle

————————————————————-
STAY IN TOUCH!
————————————————————-

Blog: www.exploringalternatives.ca
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/exploringalternativesblog
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/exploringalternatives/

————————————————————-
COMMENTS
————————————————————-

We want our channel and our comments section to be an inclusive space where everyone feels welcome to watch and contribute. For this reason, comments that are inappropriate or hateful will be reported and/or deleted.

Please discuss and debate with respect, and report inappropriate or hateful comments directly to YouTube.

————————————————————-
CREDITS
————————————————————-

Music & Song Credits:
All music in this video was composed, performed, and recorded by Mat of Exploring Alternatives.

Editing Credits:
Mat and Danielle of Exploring Alternatives

Filming Credits:
Mat of Exploring Alternatives

#homestead #offgrid #selfsufficient #greenbuilding

Thanks for watching the Union Home Mortgage Review video!

Watch the Union Home Mortgage Review video on Youtube

48 Comments
Share

48 Comments

  1. Daniel Wallberg
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Poor kids, they need to take steps to make sure their kids are able to function in normal life. They will be doomed to live live there family. Protect the kids. This parents seem smart in a lot of ways but they need to know that their choices don’t have to be their kids life.

  2. Turnips
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    I need an update on how that water heater in the bathroom works. I couldn't quite picture it. What a magickal place!

  3. Amba Kak
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Back to the roots…..a typical African lifestyle
    Then we wonder how they are happy without money lol

  4. DB
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    How did I know the parents would have dreadlocks before I saw them

  5. AmberallOverAgane00
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    As awesome as this is it's important remember that the finances ,and knowledge needed to maintain and build a life like this is an incredible privilege

  6. dabadaba
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Yes .

  7. Shoma Rodrigues
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    God bless you both and the lill ones ❤️❤️

  8. A Maz
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    I would like to spend a day there

  9. DroneInTheSky
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    How do yall get yalls mail? Important documents can't be sent to PO Box. Do they have mail boxes off grid?

  10. Scott Maynard
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Imagine living in a country that doesn't give you this much freedom.

  11. Mrs. Nicholas
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    wow!

  12. Geo Cas
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    This is Amazing!! I wud hapilly live in this house.

  13. Anna Lisa
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    You are artists!!! I can see it !

    What county do you have your homestead?
    Mine is outskirts of Denver Colorado

  14. victor
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    This house is actually insaneee I would love to live here

  15. Bea Viets
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Chinampas

  16. Sunshine Sunshine
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Everything inside this house looks DIRTY, especially the sheets on the bed and the bathrooms…..i just wanna come there and clean up the place🧹 🧽 🧼

  17. Zelda Robinson
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Awesome so nice to see that living away from cities gives you a great life and respect for nature . Why would the community be upset because you made a video and shared your journey. How can that take away from the community I like the whimsical design and free artistic flow of your home . How many acres did you buy . And have you watched My Self Reliance .with Shawn James also from Ontario and living of grid

  18. Oni B.Logna
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    I wonder if they're stoners

  19. Stravo Lukos
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Love it! Man's first occupation in the Garden of Eden (Eatin'?)

  20. SUSIL PAL
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    In india poor people always build mud houses. But here people are building concrete houses now. And western culture is moving towards mud houses.

  21. Rj Rawlings
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    I have so much to learn

  22. Diablo Pocamadres
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Congratulations that's the way I race up when I was little and when they brought me to the city I understand is not the same but I all ways going to love nature life city all ways crazy …

  23. kilo dave
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    I’m 43 and I couldn’t imagine ever living like this.

  24. Joe Shmoe from Kokomo
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    What state is this in? I have to have AC.

  25. Brian Johns
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    I lived this way for a year before. Get a washing machine bro. Bless your family.

  26. New Mexico Lucha Libre
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    These people are really amazing. Surviving the way all people should. Just so connected to the earth, and respecting their lifestyle.

  27. Melinda Mutch
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Yes!

  28. Becky Baldwin
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Anyone notice the Barbie car?

  29. Ryan Wagener
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Its cheep because hippies dint tip.

  30. Ethannesss
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    "building is not hard, it's been mystified for profit" – ooooph facts.

  31. Alyssa Hicks
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    I love this! Thanks for sharing! Question: you said you had your two children during this time. How did your home births go? Could you share more details about this? 🙂

  32. SkyeEmber
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Really cool story. Thank you for sharing!

  33. Little Bird
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Of course the government wants their cut and they want perpetual dependence.

  34. Little Bird
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    This is truly inspiring!

  35. Sunshine Traveler
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Question what did u use on roof? It looks almost plastic like but added like you would shingles

  36. Jared Coleman
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    So much respect

  37. Flower Mama
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    This was incredibly inspiring!! Thank you, thank you.

  38. Chic In The Woods TV
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Beautiful

  39. 0Akeldama0
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    damn kinda unkempt place for kids, tons of flies and dirt. immune systems will be strong tho!

  40. Patrick
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    And in the winter time? They move to Florida?

  41. Lit Battles
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Not off the grid if were watching you rn

  42. Melody Anderson
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    How did u clean though? Did u buy normal cleaning products? Or did u use something else? And i don't know where u live but in America (as far as I know), don't you have to pay for the land like monthly or yearly even if u own it?

  43. Eva Kostow
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    So incredible real. It is you and nature. Love it!!!

  44. Far North Life - Anfisa
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    We are trying this here in Alaska, currently on 11 acres offgrid 🥰 with 2 kids!

  45. M K
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Why?

  46. Gabrielle Bell
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Goals aaassssssfffffffff

  47. Sahdah
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    Try vertical turbine generators. They're more efficient than the wind turbine you currently have.

  48. Joan Mcintosh
    July 26, 2021 at 2:58 am

    You can just feel the peacefulness of this place.This is life good living. GOd bless